The association congratulates Chris (Ian) Hammond, ‘Hammo,’ of the Wanneroo Central Bush Fire Brigade, for his incredible commitment to the community of Wanneroo and is very pleased that he has been awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for his service.

The Medal of the Order of Australia is awarded for service worthy of particular recognition and is the highest recognition for outstanding achievement and service that an individual can receive. The award was announced on The Queen’s Birthday 2020 Honours List, announced on the 7th of June 2020.

Here’s are some of the things Hammo has been recognized for:

Wanneroo Central Bush Fire Brigade, City of Wanneroo

  • Deputy Chief Bush Fire Control Officer, 2004-2015.
  • Former Captain, 5 years.
  • Volunteer Firefighter, 1980-1996, and since 1999.


  • President, Carramar and Tapping Residents Association, since 2016.
  • Area Co-ordinator, Neighbourhood Watch, Wanneroo, 1990s.
  • Volunteer, Pilbara Railways Historical Society, 1996-1999.
  • Vice-President, House of Life Group, Princess Margaret Hospital, 1981-1990.
  • Fundraiser, Ronald McDonald House, Sydney, 1977-1980.
  • Volunteer, Channel 7 Telethon, 15 years.
  • Former Volunteer, Channel 9’s Appealathon.


  • Volunteer, Rally Australia, 16 years.
  • Founding Member, Subaru Car Club, Sydney.
  • Track Fire Marshall, Australian Racing Drivers Club, Amaroo and Bathurst, 1975-1980.

Awards and recognition includes:

  • Volunteer Service Award, Department of Communities, Western Australia, 2019.
  • Meritorious Service Award, Bush Fires Board, Western Australia.

Congratulations Hammo, great work!

Chris (Ian) Hammond OAM and our Volunteer Engagement Manager Alex Espey

Chris (Ian) Hammond OAM and our Volunteer Engagement Manager Alex Espey

And, a special mention to all of the other well deserving Bush Fire Volunteers who dedicate their time and often lives to helping to protect your community, but have yet to be awarded.

We see you and we appreciate your work, thank you for always having your local community’s back.

While there weren’t any Bushfire Volunteers in the list of recipients of the Australian Fire Services Medal (AFSM) this year, we acknowledge and congratulate those from other services who were recognised by Minister Logan and the Governor General today:

  • Mr James Palmiro Armanasco received the Australian Fire Service Medal for his 35 years with the Kalamunda Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service.
  • Mr Warren John Day from Busselton VFRS received the AFSM for 36 years serving as a firefighter.
  • Department of Fire and Emergency Services Superintendent Peter Crosby Sutton was awarded the AFSM.
  • State Emergency Services volunteer Mr David Jason Price was awarded an Emergency Services Medal.
  • Marine Rescue Mandurah Commander and retired DFES employee Mr Danny Goodlad received the ESM for his dedication to Marine Rescue.