2018 Firefighting Awards finalists have been announced.

The awards honour the achievements of individuals, groups, units or brigades who have gone beyond the call of duty.

Congratulations to all the nominees who have been shortlisted as finalists:

Sponsor's message

Team Achievement Award

  • Yallingup Rural VBFB
  • Yallingup Coastal VBFB/VFRS
  • Tom Price VBFB and VFRS

Youth Achievement Award

  • Callum O’Connell – Tom Price BFB/VFRS
  • Luke Summerton –  Secret Harbour VFRS
  • Ryan Sutherland – Roleystone VBFB and VFRS

Murray Lang Bush Fire Service Award

  • Morgwyn Jones – Tom Price BFB
  • Bradley Warr – Dwellingup BFB
  • David Holland – Shire of Augusta Margaret River

Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service Award

  • Andrew Munro-  Rockingham VFRS
  • Gyula Bogar – Boyup Brook VFRS
  • Neil Hatt – Carnarvon VFRS

Volunteer Fire and Emergency Services Award

Sponsor's message

  • Chriss Unstead – Bullsbrook VFES

Career Fire and Rescue Service Award

  • Jarrod Luscombe – Senior Firefighter, Malaga Station
  • Andrew Duckworth – District Officer, West Coastal
  • Phil Brandrett – District Officer, Lower South West

Winners will be announced at a joint evening ceremony to be held in September at Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre, during AFAC Conference.

The AFAC Conference will replace our annual WA Fire and Emergency Services conference this year. Due to conference programming the State Emergency Service Awards, Firefighting Awards and Volunteer Marine Rescue Service Awards will be combined into one awards ceremony.

2018 Fire and Emergency Services Awards Ceremony

Date: Friday 7 September 2018

Time: 7.00pm – 11.30pm

Venue: BelleVue Ballroom, Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre

Dress: Smart casual

Cost: Volunteers – one complimentary ticket per volunteer

Finalists – two complimentary tickets

DFES staff and guests (non-volunteers) – $100 per ticket

Registrations to the ceremony are essential – please register to reserve your tickets.

If you require accommodation and/or flights, please contact Event Travel Management on 6467 2114 or via email on eventsperth@eventsctm.com.

Previous Award Recipients

Team Achievement Award
Argyle Irishtown Bush Fire Brigade (2017)

Youth Achievement Award 
Struan Graham, Wanneroo Central Bush Fire Brigade (2016)
Matthew Holland, Witchcliffe Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service and Bush Fire Service (2015)
Kellie Bullen, Broome Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service (2014)

Murray Lang Bush Fire Service of WA Award 
Will Carmody, Cascade Bush Fire Brigade (2017)
Blake Halford, Gibson Bush Fire Brigade (2016)
Terri Kowal, Bunbury Bush Fire Brigade (2015)​​​​​​

Western Australian Fire and Emergency Services Award
Richard Oman, Fitzroy Crossing Volunteer Fire and Emergency Service (2017)
Jack Jones, Onslow Volunteer Emergency Services Unit (2016)
Frazer McGregor & Sandra Lymbery, Coral Bay Volunteer Fire and Emergency Service (2015)

WA Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service Award 
Warren Schofield, Derby Fire and Rescue Service (2017)
Anthony Crudeli, Mullewa Fire and Rescue Service (2016)
Deirdre Marchese, Kambalda Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service (2015)

WA Career Fire and Rescue Service Award 
Andrew Seuren, Regional Operations Support Officer, South Coastal (2017)
Stuart Parks, Midland Career Fire and Rescue (2016)
Martin Cable, Station Officer Kalgoorlie Fire Station (2015)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email